2023 Award Recipients




IEEE CIS would like to congratulate the newly-announced awardees listed below and also thank all of those involved with nominations and the evaluations during this awards cycle.

2023 Neural Network Pioneer Award: Donald C. Wunsch II: For contributions to unsupervised and reinforcement learning

2023 Fuzzy Systems Pioneer Award: Hao Ying: For fundamental contributions to model-free fuzzy control theory and its biomedical applications.

2023 Evolutionary Computation Pioneer Award: Stephanie Forrest: For contributions to artificial immune systems and fitness landscapes.

2023 Enrique Ruspini Meritorious Service Award to: Hisao Ishibuchi: For leadership to improve the reputation of the IEEE CIM and facilitate technical activities of the society. Janusz Kacprzyk: For contributions to strengthen the IEEE Computational Intelligence Society.

2023 Early Career Award to: Bing Xue: For contributions to the development and application of evolutionary machine learning,

2023 Outstanding Chapter Award to: IEEE Computational Intelligence Chapter, Bangalore Section

2023 IEEE CIS PhD Dissertation Award to Daniel Yazdani Particle: Swarm optimization for dynamically changing environments with particular focus on scalability and switching cost. August 2018, Liverpool John Moores University.

2023 IEEE CIS Outstanding Organization Award to Video Systems: For contributions using computational intelligence for product quality control.

2023 IEEE TNNLS Outstanding Paper Award to Jun Yin and Shiliang Sun: "Multiview Uncorrelated Locality Preserving Projection” IEEE TNNLS, Vol. 31, pp. 3442-3455, 2020

2023 IEEE TFS Outstanding Paper Award to Jie Lu; Hua Zuo; Guangquan Zhang: ” Fuzzy Multiple-Source Transfer Learning IEEE Transactions on Fuzzy Systems, vol. 28, no. 12, pp. 3418-3431, December 2020

2023 IEEE TEVC Outstanding Paper Award to Kavitesh Kumar Bali; Yew-Soon Ong; Abhishek Gupta; Puay Siew Tan, “Multifactorial Evolutionary Algorithm With Online Transfer Parameter Estimation: MFEA-II IEEE Transactions on Evolutionary Computation, Vol. 24, No. 1, pp. 69-83, February 2020

2023 IEEE TCDS Outstanding Paper Award to Tobias Fischer and Yiannis Demiris,” Computational Modeling of Embodied Visual Perspective Taking IEEE Transactions on Cognitive and Developmental Systems, Vol. 12, No. 4, pp. 123-132, 2020

2023 IEEE Transactions on Games Outstanding Paper Award to Yunqi Zhao; Igor Borovikov; Fernando de Mesentier Silva; Ahmad Beirami; Jason Rupert; Caedmon Somers; Jesse Harder; John Kolen; Jervis Pinto; Reza Pourabolghasem; James Pestrak; Harold Chaput; Mohsen Sardari; Long Lin; Sundeep Narravula; Navid Aghdaie; Kazi Zaman, "Winning Is Not Everything: Enhancing Game Development With Intelligent Agents”, IEEE Transactions on Games, Vol. 2, Issue 2, pp. 199-212, June 2020.

2023 IEEE TETCI Outstanding Paper Award to Yongliang Chen, Jinghui Zhong, Liang Feng and Jun Zhang, " An Adaptive Archive-Based Evolutionary Framework for Many-Task Optimization” IEEE Transactions on Emerging Topics In Computational Intelligence, Vol. 4, No. 3, pp. 369-384, June 2020.

2023 IEEE CIM Outstanding Paper Award to Md Shad Akhtar, Asif Ekbal, and Erik Cambria, " How Intense Are You? Predicting Intensities of Emotions and Sentiments using Stacked Ensemble” IEEE Computational Intelligence Magazine, Vol. 15, Issue 1, pp. 64-75, Feb. 2020.