2021 Award Recipients



 2021 IEEE Neural Networks Pioneer Award to: Sepp Hochreiter

2021 IEEE CIS Fuzzy Systems Pioneer Award to: Lawrence O. Hall and Kazuo Tanaka

2021 IEEE CIS Evolutionary Computation Pioneer Award to: Carlos Coello Coello

2021 IEEE CIS Meritorious Service Award to: Nikhil R. Pal

2021 CIS Chapter Award to: Gustavo Penido

2021 CIS Outstanding Early Career Award to: Zhi-Hui Zhan

2021 CIS Outstanding Ph.D. Dissertation award to: Shouyong Jiang

2021 CIS Outstanding Organization award to: Catherine Huang, McAfee




2021  IEEE TNNLS Outstanding Paper Award to:

C.L.Philip Chen and Zhulin Liu, for the paper entitled "Broad Learning System: An Effective and Efficient Incremental Learning System Without the Need for Deep Architecture", IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks and Learning Systems, vol. 29, no. 1, pp. 10-24, January 2018.


2021 IEEE TFS Outstanding Paper Award to:

Armando Segatori, Francesco Marcelloni, Youyong Kong and Witold Pedrycz for the paper entitled "On Distributed Fuzzy Decision Trees for Big Data", IEEE Transactions on Fuzzy Systems, vol. 26, no. 1, pp. 174-192, February 2018.


2021 IEEE TEVC Outstanding Paper Award to:

Xingyi Zhang, Ye Tian, Ran Cheng and Yaochu Jin for the paper entitled "A Decision Variable Clustering-Based Evolutionary Algorithm for Large-scale Many-objective Optimization", IEEE Transactions on Evolutionary Computation, Vol. 22, No. 1, pp. 97-112, February 2018


2021 IEEE TCDS Outstanding Paper Award to:

Tiffany Hwu, Alexander Y. Wang, Nicolas Oros and Jeffrey L. Krichmar, for the paper entitled "Adaptive Robot Path Planning Using a Spiking Neuron Algorithm with Axonal Delays", IEEE Transactions on Cognitive and Developmental Systems, Vol.10, No. 2, pp. 126 –137, June 2018


2021 IEEE ToG Outstanding Paper Award to:

Nicolas A. Barriga, Marius Stanescu and Michael Buro, for the paper entitled “Game Tree Search Based on Nondeterministic Action Scripts in Real-Time Strategy Games”, IEEE Transactions on Games, Vol. 10, No. 1, pp. 69 – 77, March 2018.



2021 IEEE CIM Outstanding Paper Award to:

Tom Young, Devamanyu Hazarika, Soujanya Poria and Erik Cambria, for the paper entitled "Recent Trends in Deep Learning Based Natural Language Processing", IEEE Computational Intelligence Magazine, Vol. 13, No. 3, pp. 55-75, August 2018


2021 IEEE TETCI Outstanding Paper Award to:

Mirco Ravanelli, Philemon Brakel, Maurizio Omologo and Yoshua Bengio, for the paper entitled "Light Gated Recurrent Units for Speech Recognition", IEEE Transactions on Emerging Topics in Computational Intelligence, Vol. 2, No. 2, pp. 92-102, April 2018