IEEE CIS Meritorious Service Award Nomination Instructions

The IEEE Computational Intelligence Society (CIS) recognizes meritorious service to the Society through its Meritorious Service Award established in 2000. The prize includes a $1,500 honorarium and a certificate. The candidate must be or have been a member or associate member of CIS. For those who are interested in submitting a nomination for the IEEE CIS Meritorious Service Award, the materials needed are the following:

• Nomination Letter with the following information:

• Nominator: name, affiliation and email address of nominator

• Nominee: name, affiliation, postal address, email address and webpage address of nominee

• Basis for Nomination: detailed documentation to justify meritorious service to CIS (e.g.,exceptional administrative, managerial, and leadership achievement; proposal and/or implementation of innovative new CIS programs; dedication to the growth and advancement of CIS and its geographic and technical entities)

• Proposed Citation: provide suggestion for the complete, correct, and succinct citation. The Awards Committee reserves the right to make any necessary change on the citation.

• Up to five reference letters supporting the nomination.

The complete nomination packet must be saved in a single pdf file containing the above information in the given order. The name of the file must be surname_of_nomineeMeritorious.pdf.

The complete nomination packet must be submitted by email to the Awards Soliciting Nominations Subcommittee Chair, Prof. Cesare Alippi (cesare.alippi .a_t. and a copy to Only when the Awards Chair acknowledges receipt of the nomination packet, the submission procedure can be considered complete.

The deadline is April 30, 2018 (strict deadline).

The list of past awardees is provided below for reference:

  • 2017: Xin Yao
  • 2016: Gary Fogel
  • 2015: Marios Polycarpou
  • 2013: Gary Yen
  • 2012: Bernadette Bouchon-Meunier
  • 2011: Patrick K. Simpson
  • 2010: James M. Keller
  • 2009: Vincenzo Piuri
  • 2008: Jacek M. Zurada
  • 2007: David B. Fogel
  • 2006: Evangelia Micheli-Tzanakou
  • 2005: Piero P. Bonissone
  • 2004: Enrique H. Ruspini
  • 2003: Clifford Lau
  • 2002: Walter Karplus
  • 2001: James C. Bezdek
  • 2000: Robert J. Marks

If you have any questions regarding the IEEE CIS Meritorious Service Award nomination, please feel free to contact the Awards Committee Chair: Prof. Marios Polycarpou  (