News and Announcements

2019 IEEE CIS Call for Nominations (Deadline May 31, 2019)

The IEEE Computational Intelligence Society (CIS) is seeking nominations for several key leadership positions (terms in parentheses):

  • Vice President for Conferences (2020-2021)
  • Vice President for Finances-Elect (2020) then Vice
  • President for Finances (2021-2022)
  • Vice President for Technical Activities (2020-2021)

Five ADCOM Members-at-Large (2020-2022)

One vacated ADCOM Members-at-Large (remaining 2019)

Visit the Call for Nominations for additional details and position requirements.


Awards Annoucements 

2019 IEEE CIS Neural Networks Pioneer Award to: Yoshua Bengio


2019 IEEE CIS Fuzzy Systems Pioneer Award to: Hisao Ishibuchi


2019 IEEE CIS Evolutionary Computation Pioneer Award to: Zbigniew Michalewicz


2019 IEEE CIS Meritorious Service Award to: Pablo Estevez


2019 CIS Outstanding Early Career Award to: Erik Cambria


2019 IEEE CIS Outstanding Chapter Award to: IEEE CIS San Diego Chapter


2019 CIS Outstanding Ph.D. Dissertation award to: Ran Cheng  


2019 IEEE TNNLS Outstanding Paper Award to:

Tong Wang, Huijun Gao, and Jianbin Qiu, for the paper entitled "A Combined Adaptive Neural Network and Nonlinear Model Predictive Control for Multirate Networked Industrial Process Control,” IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks and Learning Systems, vol. 27, no. 2, pp. 416-425, February 2016.


2019 IEEE TFS Outstanding Paper Award to:

Mahardhika Pratama, Jie Lu, and Guangquan Zhang for the paper entitled “Evolving Type-2 Fuzzy Classifier”, IEEE Transactions on Fuzzy Systems, vol. 24, no. 3, pp. 574-589, 2016.


2019 IEEE TEVC Outstanding Paper Award to:

Abhishek Gupta, Yew Soon Ong and Liang Feng for the paper entitled “Multifactorial Evolution: Toward Evolutionary Multitasking”, IEEE Transactions on Evolutionary Computation, vol. 20, no. 3, pp. 343-357, 2016.


2019 IEEE TCDS Outstanding Paper Award to:

Hande Celikkanat, Guner Orhan, Nicolas Pugeault, Frank Guerin, and Erol Şahin, for the paper entitled Learning Context on a Humanoid Robot Using Incremental Latent Dirichlet Allocation, IEEE Transactions on Cognitive and Developmental Systems (IEEE TCDS), vol. 8, no. 1, pp. 42-59, 2016.


2019 IEEE CIM Outstanding Paper Award to:

Jun Hu, Huajin Tang, Kay Chen Tan and Haizhou Li, for the paper entitled "How the Brain Formulates Memory: A Spatio-Temporal Model," IEEE Computational Intelligence Magazine, vol. 11, no. 4, pp. 56-68, May 2016.


IEEE CIS Young Professionals SSCI 2018 reception in Bangalore

46499322 2297831113592459 2999145585140826112 o 2          46464943 2297831213592449 8244869897167831040 o 1          46498314 2297831656925738 2898329242276200448 o 

   Please visit the IEEE CIS Young Professionals subcommittee webpage and Facebook page for more event details.